Can I use FakeVideo with Simple.exe

Discussion related to implementation and use of the H.323 Plus H.323 stack at http://www.h323plus.org.
Post Reply
camkego
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:45 pm
Contact:

Can I use FakeVideo with Simple.exe

Post by camkego » Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:54 pm

Hi,

I am trying to use the Simple test application with the FakeVideo video source.

When I specify -'v FakeVideo' on the simple.exe command line, I get the following stdout/stderr output:

> Using video driver FakeVideo
> InputDevice Fake/MovingBlocks capabilities not Available.

Sure enough, if I breakpoint through what is happening, I see
vfakeio.cxx:1350-1354
static bool GetDeviceCapabilities(
const PString & /*deviceName*/, ///< Name of device
Capabilities * /*caps*/ ///< List of supported capabilities
) { return false; }


Is it possible to use one of the FakeVideo sources with simple?
What am I missing?

I am on H323 Plus 1.26.0 & PTLib 2.12.8

Thanks in advance.
Cameron

shorne
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 4:17 am

Re: Can I use FakeVideo with Simple.exe

Post by shorne » Sat Mar 15, 2014 5:32 am

The commandline should be -vFakeVideo (no spaces) not -'v FakeVideo' . Works fine here.

User avatar
willamowius
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: Can I use FakeVideo with Simple.exe

Post by willamowius » Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:05 am

On Linux the fake video devices only work in debug executables. When you compile optimized executables, the devices are optimized out and aren't available at runtime. I'm not sure if a similar issue exists on Windows.
Jan Willamowius
Founder of the GNU Gatekeeper Project
https://www.gnugk.org
https://www.willamowius.com (H.323 support)

camkego
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Can I use FakeVideo with Simple.exe

Post by camkego » Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:52 am

Thanks for the help.
Cameron

Post Reply