Virus in AES Crypt ?

Discussion related to AES Crypt, the file encryption software for Windows, Linux, Mac, and Java.
Post Reply
scoubidou
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:20 pm

Virus in AES Crypt ?

Post by scoubidou » Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:23 pm

Hello,

Nine antiviruses found a virus in AES Crypt 32 bits : https://www.virustotal.com/fr/file/6470 ... 411855159/

Is there a virus ?

User avatar
paulej
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:32 pm
Location: Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
Contact:

Re: Virus in AES Crypt ?

Post by paulej » Sun Sep 28, 2014 2:40 am

The file name "AESCrypt_32-bits.msi" is not a file from our site. Perhaps somebody created a file with a similar name? We have never named a file with that name. The filename we have is "AESCrypt.msi".

The current 32-bit code for Windows, if that is what you want, can be found here:
https://www.aescrypt.com/download/v3/wi ... _win32.zip

UPDATE:

I looked at the site to which you referred more carefully. The file it says it inspected has an SHA-1 and SHA-256 hash that match the 32-bit AESCrypt.msi file. So, that is the right file. However, there is no virus in that installer. I see on the page things like "RiskWare [RiskTool: not-a-virus] /Win32.Crypter". I have no idea what that means, but it labels the software as "RiskWare", perhaps because the installer is not signed? Whatever the case, it then says "not-a-virus". So, they know it's not a virus, but I'm not sure why it complains.

I guess the virus scanning tools out there are just getting more ignorant.

Perlmutter
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:04 pm

Re: Virus in AES Crypt ?

Post by Perlmutter » Tue Jul 25, 2017 4:17 pm

That's scary Paul, eset flagged it for me too. My mistake for for not downloading from the official source.

Post Reply